Treats: Easy as Pie

As somewhat of a linguistics nerd, I do wonder where some of these phrases come from. “Easy as pie,” what exactly does that even mean? Pies are not especially easy to make, my mother’s secret Apple Pie recipe is proof of that. But this pie – this s’mores pie – is seriously easy and seriously delicious! However, it is not at all scientific, so it can be as marshmallow-y or chocolatey as you want.

What you’ll need:

  • Graham Cracker Pie Crust
  • Marshmallow Creme
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Bars
  • Mini Marshmallows
  • Chocolate Chips
  • Regular Pie Crust

I kind of cheated on this recipe and bought the pre-made graham cracker crust because of time constraints, but it was amazing, so I’m sticking with it. Preheat your oven according to the crust’s directions.

Fill the bottom of the pie crust with your marshmallow creme. You can use as much or as little as you want. Some recipes call for all 8oz but I probably used about 5 or 6.

Break apart your Hershey’s chocolate bars and arrange the pieces on top of the marshmallow creme, forming a layer of chocolate. Be careful – the crust may break if you press them down too hard.

Sprinkle mini marshmallows on top of your chocolate layer. As many as you want! I also added more chocolate pieces once I got to my desired level of marshmallowness.

Then, roll out one pie crust to fit around the circumference of your pie pan. Cover the pan with your pie crust and fold around the edges as you wish. I kind of twisted mine so that it had a braided effect.

Taking a handful of chocolate chips, press them into the pie crust. You can be a tad aggressive with it – I wanted my crust to be extra cracked so that the marshmallow could kind of ooze out and make it feel like a real campfire treat. Again, as many choco chips as you want!

Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown. This is what came out of my oven (along with some delectable smells):

IMG_9479

 

I would highly recommend serving it warm, maybe with some ice cream? I think next time I make this, I will add some type of peanut butter element 🙂

If you decide to make one, share pics and your tips below!

One thought on “Treats: Easy as Pie

  1. I think the term “easy as pie” refers to how easy it is to eat it! This looks delicious and I look forward to reading more posts.

Leave a Reply

